Log House [3d environment test]

  • 3d objects with collision boxes
  • lighting baked texture tests
  • FPS character controller

http://mysql01.georgebrown.ca/~muney/index.html

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skidrules
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 11:55:12

    Very good! But I don’t understand how to walk 😦
    I want to discover the interior of your house!

    Reply

  2. Mehmet Can
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 12:22:03

    Thank you.

    You have to left click on game window once in order to make controls responsive. Then,

    Up Arrow (or W): walk forward
    Back Arrow (or S): walk backwards
    Right Arrow (or D): sidestep right
    Left Arrow (or A)): sidestep left
    Space Button: Jump

    Mouse Look:
    Mouse movement in any direction makes the character look around. And character moves at the direction where he looks. If you press “up arrow” and walk forward, then you can change your direction just by moving you mouse left or right.

    If you clink anywhere other than the game window, then the game will be unresponsive until you click inside game window again.

    I know this stuff is a little bit confusing, but I hope this explanation helps a little bit. And thanks for your comments

    Reply

  3. skidrules
    Dec 23, 2010 @ 12:22:06

    O! Thanx for explanation!
    I advise you to add a little comment above the page like “click the left button on the scene to activate controls – W,S,A,D”. That would be usefull for everybody who visit your page.
    I like your shadowmapping and light inside the gouse very much and the thing I like a lot is the beds – they are really realistic.

    I began to use Unity3d 1 month ago. But I was using Blender Game Engine for 3 years before. Unity is just great: fast, simple and I like that web player.
    What period of time do you use Unity?

    Reply

  4. Mehmet Can
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 13:31:59

    I started to use Unity around 5 months ago. I couldn’t focus on Unity because of my “programming phobia”. I know that I will need unityscript for complex scenes. And this thought prevents me to do something decent on Unity. But, I’m still trying…

    I also use Unreal Development Kit, and I like it a lot. But, Unity has several advantages over UDK when it comes to game publishing. As you said, web player is one of those advantages and it’s my primary reason to use Unity right now.

    I heard a lot about Blender Game Engine. I would like to see your projects.

    And thanks for your comments. Actually, most of the furnitures on this project were not meant to use in any game engine. I have prepared this entire log house for my advanced digital design students as a part of their curriculum. Later, I import it to Unity for studying lightmaps.

    Original project renders:
    http://www.minigamestudio.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

